1. News & Issues
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

DV-2010 List of Excluded Countries


Anyone who wants to take part in the Green Card Lottery must be a native of an eligible country. You may not take part in the green card lottery if you are a national of a country that has sent more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. during the past five years. The list is revised each year.

The good news for DV-2010 is both Russia and Kosovo have been added to the list of eligible countries. No countries have been removed from the previous year's list.

For DV-2010, natives of the following countries are NOT eligible to apply because these countries have sent more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. in the previous two years:

  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China (mainland-born)
  • Colombia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • South Korea
  • United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories
  • Vietnam
  • Persons born in Hong Kong, SAR, Macau SAR and Taiwan ARE eligible

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.